SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    How do you keep your go to semi auto shotgun?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do you keep your go to semi auto shotgun? Login/Join 
posted
I am new to semi-auto shotguns.

I just picked up my Beretta 1301 G3.

I normally would keep a gun fully loaded with one in the chamber.

I have been told this is not safe for a semi-auto shotgun as they are not drop-safe even with the safety one.

What does the hive say about how they store theirs?

Also, what have you added to yours to make it more useful and comfortable?

I am thinking of adding a sling, light, and maybe an optic.

Not sure the optic is useful in home defense but might be fun at the range and other places.

Posts: 4760 | Registered: February 15, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
All of my defensive shotguns are stored "cruiser ready". That is, full magazine, off safe, empty chamber.

With my sole semiauto defensive shotgun, a Beretta 1201FP (a clone of the Benelli M1), I do the same but also have it "ghost loaded" with an additional shell riding on the lifter under the bolt. However, I don't believe you can "ghost load" the lifter on a 1301 like you can with some of the older Benelli models.

A sling and a light are a must on any defensive long gun, in my opinion.

Posts: 32992 | Location: Northwest Arkansas | Registered: January 06, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Peace through
superior firepower
Picture of parabellum
posted Hide Post
quote:
Not sure the optic is useful in home defense but might be fun at the range and other places.
For home defense, I consider a sling to be essential and a light to be almost essential.

Optics? Why? If you want to obscure your target, just glue an empty soda can to the top of the receiver.

Posts: 108937 | Registered: January 20, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post