SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Inline muzzleloaders… where to start?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Inline muzzleloaders… where to start? Login/Join 
posted
I’m interested in getting an inline muzzleloader to take advantage of an early deer hunting season.

My state requires a minimum of .44 cal.

I have zero experience with inlines and have no clue where to start looking. I want something easy to use and clean.

From what I understand once you load a muzzleloader the only way to get the bullet out is to shoot. Are there any new rifles which allow for the bullet to be removed?

I don’t plan on shooting past 100yrds and would like to keep the price below $500.

What are some features I need to look for and stay away from? Thanks

Posts: 5406 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA | Registered: February 27, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"Member"
Picture of cas
posted Hide Post
They make Co2 cartridge dischargers to blow the bullet and powder out.

Posts: 21053 | Location: 18th & Fairfax  | Registered: May 17, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Buy that Classic SIG in All Stainless,
No rail wear will be painless.
Picture of cee_Kamp
posted Hide Post
This information below applies to Thompson/Center Encore rifle and pistol inline muzzleloaders. I own both, two frames, (one rifle, one pistol), and a pile of interchangeable barrels.
I have barrels in .50 caliber muzzleloader (rifle and pistol), 30-06 (pistol), .270 (rifle), .500 S & W Mag. (carbine, 20" long)
The rifle frame (as described on the 4473 form when purchased new) will only ever be able to be used as a long gun. (rifle, muzzleloader rifle, or a shotgun)
The pistol frame (as described on the 4473 form when purchased new) can be used with pistol, rifle, and shotgun barrels, swap grips/stocks/as needed.
There is no difference between a rifle frame and a pistol frame, other than manufacturers part number. Buying used, this can become a problem.