SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Help a newbie out Red dot cowitness on Mini 14
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help a newbie out Red dot cowitness on Mini 14 Login/Join 
paradox in a box
Picture of frayedends
posted
I'm probably overthinking this. But I'm still new to long guns. My AR has a red dot but no iron sights so I haven't cared about co-witnessing as long as my red dot is accurate.

Anyhow, I got a mini 14 for a good deal. It has a small rail already on it. The rear sight is blocked by the rail. I picked up a Romeo 5 and mounted it. The manual says it is set for absolute co-witness. My research says that this means my red dot should line up exactly with my front sight. This is not the case on my Mini 14. The front sight is much lower. When I shot a few times with the red dot it seems fairly accurate, though I was only about 10 yards out in my back yard range area.

Anyhow just wondering if I have something wrong or if it's just the addition of a rail which is higher than the sights on the mini to begin with.

Thanks

Best pic I can do with just my 2 hands...

These go to eleven.

Posts: 12420 | Location: Westminster, MA | Registered: November 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
That Romeo optic and mount combo is set up for Absolute cowitness on an AR15. It will not cowitness on your Mini-14.

ARs, due to their inline stock, allow for a taller optic mount than rifles with a traditional drop comb stock like your Mini-14. (Just look at the iron sight difference: a Mini-14's irons sit a fraction of an inch above the barrel, while an AR's irons sit 2-3 inches above the barrel.)

In addition, you won't be able to mount any cowitnessing optic using that receiver-mounted rail. As you already noticed, it blocks the rear sight. So even if you get a lower mount, the optic will still be taller than the iron sights, since the rail itself is taller than the irons.