SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Looking for a light compact bolt action LEFT Hand in.308
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for a light compact bolt action LEFT Hand in.308 Login/Join 
Picture of ruger357
posted
I’ve done a cursory search of Ruger browning savage tikka. Didn’t see a truly compact lightweight version. Did I miss one or is there another brand I’m forgetting?

This will be an all around little gun that I can always have handy.

-----------------------------------------

Roll Tide!

Glock Certified Armorer
NRA Certified Firearms Instructor

Posts: 8001 | Location: Hoover, AL | Registered: November 06, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ruger357
posted Hide Post
I wouldn’t be opposed to another type of action if it was light and small and accurate. Maybe even a single shot but I have no experience with those.

Roll Tide!

Glock Certified Armorer

Posts: 8001 | Location: Hoover, AL | Registered: November 06, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of uvahawk
posted Hide Post
You may want to consider a Remington 700 LTR. Do not know if there are still manufactured. Should meet your requirements. But be aware of the broad recall of triggers on many Remington 700s. I had a gunsmith install a Timney in place of the Remington stock trigger.

Posts: 221 | Location: Low Country, South Carolina | Registered: November 28, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Ruger predator weighs in at about 6 1/2 lbs with a 22 inch barrel. Have the barrel cut and crowned and you can probably get it down to under 6 lbs.

link

Posts: 762 | Location: in the PA woods | Registered: March 11, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ruger357
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by pace40:
Ruger predator weighs in at about 6 1/2 lbs with a 22 inch barrel. Have the barrel cut and crowned and you can probably get it down to under 6 lbs.

link

I have considered that very thing.

Roll Tide!