SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    So I decided to shoot lefty

Moderators: Chris Orndorff, LDD
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

So I decided to shoot lefty Login/Join 
Where liberty dwells,
there is my country
Picture of Nick
posted
I started shooting skeet last fall and l love it. I usually shoot 16-21 birds, but struggle with my mixed eye dominance issues. Tried closing my left eye, but that just makes you half blind. Tried closing it right before I pull the trigger, no joy. So I have spent the last 5 months shooting with a piece of tape strategically placed on my left lens to give me some peripheral vision, but keep my dominant left eye from seeing the bead.

This was the best fix I could find, but it’s aggravating as hell on the skeet field, and a down right handicap shooting sporting clays.

So today I decided to try shooting lefty. Some friends and I tried shooting 5 stand today for the second time. First round I shot right handed and hit 5 birds. Next round shot lefty and hit 15! The blind spot was gone, the double vision was gone, and I felt like I just went from looking at a 12” black and white to a 65” big screen!

It’s going to take a boat load of practice, but I’ve decided to commit to the change. I know it will be like starting over, but I think it will be worth it in the long run.

"Escaped the liberal Borg and living free"

Posts: 2151 | Location: North Carolina, USA | Registered: January 21, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Welcome to the dark side.

Posts: 3040 | Location: Indiana | Registered: December 28, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of 1KPerDay
posted Hide Post
Yeah I don’t know why anyone would try to force themselves to shoot cross dominant with a long gun.

---------------------------
My hovercraft is full of eels.

Posts: 2703 | Registered: February 27, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post