SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Rifle stock repair
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rifle stock repair Login/Join 
Rumors of my death
are greatly exaggerated
Picture of coloradohunter44
posted
This is an H&R rifle from around 1968. It has deep cracks and they show through to the underside. It is a mannlicher style stock. My question is can this be repaired/ strengthened with epoxy or something. Similar to glass bedding. Ive looked around and am not finding any replacement stocks. Maybe convert it to a different rifle stock. Ideas or thoughts folks?

"Someday I hope to be half the man my bird-dog thinks I am."

FBLM LGB!

Posts: 10994 | Location: Commirado | Registered: July 23, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert on stock repair, but it's a frequent topic on some of the milsurp forums I frequent, for obvious reasons.

It's my understanding that most cracked wood stocks can be fixed using brass pins/screws and epoxy or fiberglass. The issue are more:

A) Is the value - either monetary or at least sentimental - worth the associated expense to do so

and

B) Can you locate one of the few remaining true gunsmiths (not just parts swappers, but craftsmen) who has the ability to get around to it within a reasonable amount of time

Posts: 33108 | Location: Northwest Arkansas | Registered: January 06, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
Acra-glass,
Dye it black, mix it, spread the crack open, smear in with toothpick, squish, wrap it or use a wood clamp, let it sit overnight.

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020

“A single round of buckshot to the torso almost always results in an immediate change of behavior.” Chris Baker