SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Cleaning a 22 rifle
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cleaning a 22 rifle Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by offgrid:
Waiting til accuracy falls to clean, as a newb I was bitten by that notion several years ago....

Yep, it only has to occur once at a critical time, when accuracy counts. Then we change our practices.

quote:
Carbon ring on the throat of a 22 barrel, bore scope has shown me absolutely.

I stand corrected. Good to know.

Posts: 7884 | Location: Colorado | Registered: January 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
fugitive from reality
Picture of SgtGold
posted Hide Post
quote:
With cleaning products like Boretech, Wipeout-Patchout.. the days of worrying about "over cleaning" are long gone. Not only do these non-ammonia base products cause no harm to our barrels, more effective. The days of using Sweets, Butches Boreshine, all the stinky stuff..... should be behind us!

I recently started using the Patchout\Wipeout\Leadout products. You don't even need to use a brush, After soaking for a short time, whatever fouling is in the barrel comes out with just patches.

Posts: 7076 | Location: Newyorkistan | Registered: March 28, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TTQF24F/ref=emc_b_5_t

Have version of this

https://www.brownells.com/sear...?k=Hawkeye+Borescope

Couple friends have Hawkeyes.

Suggest to just use it after cleaning, see how you're doing. Look for a carbon ring just past the throat, it'll be very obvious if it's there. AR barrel also look at the carbon build up around the gas port. Local gunsmith of many years (High Master High Power shooter.....) as well as CompassLake's AR gunsmith told me this is a problem they see when AR barrels shoot then don't shoot, especailly when new. Once you got where you know you are cleaning your barrels well enough, put it away!!!