SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Are there any budget red dot sights for AR platform?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Are there any budget red dot sights for AR platform? Login/Join 
Eating elephants
one bite at a time
Picture of ffips
posted
First, I am new to the platform. I have 1 20" rifle with iron front sight and a carry handle. I also have 1 10.5" pistol with iron front sight only. Both are Anderson lowers with PSA uppers on them. My intended use for either would be plinking. I suppose there could be a remote chance of some sort of hunt (hog maybe? doubtful though). Heaven forbid something goes bump that must be investigated.

I understand the buy once cry once mantra. I also don't always require top of the line when middle of the road will suffice.

I also struggle to see the value of a site that approaches or surpasses the platform. Guess I learned that lesson when in the 80's I put some Pirelli tires on a $350 1971 VW squareback.

So, all that said, what are the good value for the dollars spent sights that can be put on what I have?

I intend to learn iron sights, but would also like some sort of red dot.

I will even listen to discussion for high end equipment, but I need more than brand reputation and high prices to sway me.

I am not a sniper, tacticool, or an operator. I am just an aging over weight guy that on occasion likes to shoot.

Thanks in advance. Smile

Posts: 3572 | Location: in the southwest Atlanta metro area | Registered: September 10, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Raised Hands Surround Us
Three Nails To Protect Us
Picture of Black92LX
posted Hide Post
Magpul MBUS sights are inexpensive. Polymer but of great quality.
You seem to only need a rear at the moment as you have front sights.
The Daniel Defense fixed rear sight is a very nice sight and around $65.

————————————————
The world's not perfect, but it's not that bad.
If we got each other, and that's all we have.