SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    For sigfreund about March-FX 5-40X56 Gen II
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

For sigfreund about March-FX 5-40X56 Gen II Login/Join 
posted
I actually work for a living and even though I am past retirement age, I seem to be working longer and harder now than ever before. Thankfully, it's not shoveling snow, manure, or coal; I shovel data.

I saw your non-disappeared post about the March-FX 5-40X56 Gen II and the link to some YouTube videos. I wanted to answer after doing some research because you asked a great question.

I watched the video to which you linked and then went on to watch all his videos on March riflescopes. He does a very good job, but he does make some mistakes, and he has some gaps in his knowledge. Now I realize he does not pass himself off as an expert in optics, he just says he knows the features that are important to him, and he tests for those.

One of the mistakes he makes in this video is when he talks about the diameter of the main tube. He says the reason some manufacturers go to a 34mm tube is to provide a wider range of adjustments and he says that's what March did. In fact, that's not the case; March went to a 34mm main tube because they made the wall of the tube thicker at 4mm, instead of 2mm. Much later in the video he mentions the thickness of the wall at 4mm, but he doesn't make the connection between that, the 34mm tube, and the adjustment range.

The next mistake that he makes is when he says he placed the target at 100 yards, and then went on to test the adjustments on the knobs. He actually should have placed the target at 100 METERS (109.36 yards). This mistake means that the reticle will increasingly be positioned below the line, which is exactly what happens in the video.