Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pistol Standards Login/Join 
posted
What do you use for your pistol standards? Three single target standards/drills I've been shooting for a few years.

A long time instructor, competitor...at my local range who I've shot with quite a bit suggested the Gunsite standards for a balance of accuracy and speed. He had the two Gunsite standards memorized, I wrote them down. The times are from a open holster.

Gunsite 250

3yds 1 shot CNS 1.5 sec
7yds 2 shots COM 1.5 sec
10yds 2 shots COM 2.0 sec
15yds 2 shots COM drop to kneeling 3.5 sec
25yds 2shots COM drop to prone 7 sec

Prone? I asked. He dropped down prone and shot at 100yds with his Glock 17. OK, I get it. He helped me with technique. Shot the above countless times.

Gunsite Cup

3yds 1 shot CNS 1.0 sec X5
7yds 1 shot CNS 1.5 sec X5
10yds 2 shots COM 2.0 sec X5
15yds 2 shots COM reload, 2 shots COM 6 sec X3
25yds 2 shots COM 4.0 sec X4

The above is bad ass! First three are the tough ones for me. Getting there, worked on them yesterday.

Gabe White standards. http://www.gabewhitetraining.c...hnical-skills-tests/
I like how went about picking the times for these standards. Times are also from open holster. Times are the Turbo Pin and Light Pin. Turbo Pin also badass! What I like about his standards is not only a balance of speed and accuracy. Multiple shots test grip, recoil control, sight tracking, trigger control.... There's usually a difference for me when shooting multiple shots vs a single with my draw time, working on that as well.

Bill Drill
2.0, 2.5 sec

2-CM 1-CNS
1.7, 2.25 sec

2-CNS
2.0, 2.5 sec

4-COM 2-CNS
2.6, 3.5 sec

Also done these countless times. Judging myself on what I do cold.

From timing myself open holster vs conceal AIWB adding .25-.3 seconds from concealed is right for me.

Posts: 3197 | Location: 9860 ft above sea level Colorado | Registered: December 31, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Sigforum K9 handler
Picture of jljones
posted Hide Post