SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Sig Sauer P229 DAK
Page 1 2 

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Sig Sauer P229 DAK Login/Join 
Picture of Patrolman175
posted
An older friend just gave me a 7 year old P229 DAK 40 caliber. I'm a Police Officer for 23+ years and carry the Glock 22 for the last 14 years. He is retired police officer and said he is just going with 9mm pistols for his golden years. I don't know much about the P229 DAK, or Sig pistols in general. Prior to the Glock I carried a Colt 1911 government model and the Beretta 92fs pistol. My department standardized on Glock. This P229 has been fired very little, any pros or cons on this pistol? Thinking about using as off right carry, as we are not restricted on what we can carry. Thanks

posted Hide Post
Different than your Glock but still nice. I personally love the DAK Sigs. I only have one right now but had a 220, 226 and a 229 in DAK.
Two different reset points in the trigger. First reset is supposedly a pound or so heavier than original trigger pull. Second reset or sweeping the trigger all the way through is the same pull as the original.
You can experiment a little and find out what you like. This is not a pistol to shoot at speed.
I personally let the trigger go all the way forward so it's the same pull all the time.
My drills with the DAK involve drawing, shooting 2-3 shots, reholster and then go through it again. No need to decock as it's not DA/SA.
It's not for everyone but if you give it a chance, you may like it.

I'd rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I'm not.

Posts: 3652 | Location: The armpit of Ohio | Registered: August 18, 2013Report This Post
posted Hide Post
If you work with DAK enough, it can be an excellent trigger system. It is a matter of practice.

End of Earth: 2 Miles
Upper Peninsula: 4 Miles

Posts: 15987 | Location: Marquette MI | Registered: July 08, 2014Report This Post
Picture of pbramlett
posted Hide Post