SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Dan Wesson CBOB Ordered
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dan Wesson CBOB Ordered Login/Join 
King Nothing
Picture of SigSauerP226
posted
I’ve been lusting after this little bastard for over 10 years and, as a resident of CA, I’m limited on my pistol options, but the Dan Wesson CBOB is still on the roster and man it’s such a sweet looking piece. Every time I’ve had the 1911 itch the CBOB always takes over, so decided to finally just order the damn thing from Bud’s Gun Shop. Overall as my first 1911 I’ll have some learning to do, but from my casual reading my one concern is the stainless steel. I’ve read about rusting and such, some people opting to have it nitrided or other finishes. If I were to keep it in original form, is the stainless really that much of a hassle?? Should I look into nitriding or another coating (though I’d really love to keep it as is)?? Odd as it is, there’s a weird inner-peace having finally ordered a 1911…

...Then it comes to be that the soothing light at the end of your tunnel, was just a freight train coming your way...

Posts: 2556 | Location: Simi Valley, CA | Registered: September 25, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
Things don't just rust, if people take proper care of their stuff.

Q

Posts: 27619 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Jack of All Trades,
Master of Nothing
Picture of 2000Z-71
posted Hide Post
Congrats. I really enjoy shooting my Dan Wesson Razorback in 10mm and PM9 in 9mm.

My daughter can deflate your daughter's soccer ball.

Posts: 11889 | Location: Eagle River, AK | Registered: September 12, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I wouldn't coat it. Just don't soak it in a bucket of water and keep it oiled and you'll be fine. Congratulations!