SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    SwampFox Sentinel vs Holosun 507k for a Glock 43x
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

SwampFox Sentinel vs Holosun 507k for a Glock 43x Login/Join 
Now in Florida
Picture of ChicagoSigMan
posted
Thought I would check the hive wisdom here. I have a new Glock 43X MOS and have been trying to decide between these two red dots. I've never used a red dot on a pistol before so I have nothing for comparison. Online reviews I've watched and read seem to indicate that both are excellent, although it seems the Holosun seems to be the one chosen most often. I'm leaning towards the Sentinel because it doesn't require a plate to mount, whereas the Holosun requires a $50 plate or a permanent filing down of of the post on the Glock's milled area.

Any experience or wisdom to share?

Posts: 6064 | Location: FL | Registered: March 09, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I am not sure why Glock made the MOS style/design mount area the way they did. With that said, I don't know much about the Swampfox but do have experience with the Holosun brand and I like them a lot. The Holosun has a few benefits that others don't have like it has a side door for battery replacement which is a big deal when you are trying to sight in your rds and it has a good seal to eliminate any fluids getting into the unit. You have the option for x3 types of sight options-dot, circle and circle/dot. The windage and elevation screw adjustments are pretty solid and click/lock audibly, which can prevent any changes compared to the Swampfox. Lastly, they have a great overall reputation for durability.

The downside is, as you know, you need another plate in order for it to fit which can throw off your iron sight co-witness,which I prefer. I have seen a few people file down the rear pins on the slide, so the Holosun will fit without the adapter plate. You just have to figure out what is best for you.