SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Advice wanted on fiber optic sights; discussion re tritium
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Advice wanted on fiber optic sights; discussion re tritium Login/Join 
Smarter than the
average bear
posted
I am 57 and use reading glasses on a regular basis. In bright light I am still okay with standard sights, but in low light, shade, deep woods, I really can't get a good focus on the front sight. I have limited experience with fiber optic sights, but they did seem to be much better for me.

I am becoming less enthused with night sights, as they just don't seem to help in low light, and I'm probably not going to shoot in "no light". So I want to try some fiber optics, and I'd like advice.

I'd like discussion on fiber optic versus tritium/night sights. But mostly, if you've used fiber optics, do you prefer just the front fiber optic, or front and back. And if front and back, same color or different? I am aware of some products (TruGlo) that are a combo fiber optic with tritium, but they seem to have poor reviews regarding reliability. If you have good experience with something like that, please let me know.

I did the poll to tally results, but I'd really like some discussion of the issue. Please don't answer the poll unless you actually have experience with both; ie. don't tell me you prefer night sights if you've never tried fiber. Thanks!

Question:
Do you prefer night sights, or fiber optic, and if fiber optic, which color/combo?

Choices:
Night sights
Fiber optic, front only green.
Fiber optic, front only red.
Fiber optic, different front/rear colors.
Hybrid fiber optic with tritium

Posts: 3435 | Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana | Registered: June 20, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go ahead punk, make my day
posted Hide Post
Ameriglo FO / Tritium is the best IMO, I just wish they made them for more pistols.

Posts: 45798 | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Telecom Ronin