SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    sig P228
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

sig P228 Login/Join 
posted
a question to the 228 experts.....is there difference in quality/collector value in the "made in W.Germany", "made in Germany", and the "made in Germany, assembled in the US" versions??
I understand completeness (box, manual, test target, matching numbers) plays a large role in the value, but I'm just curious if the rollmarked guns are "better quality"...
thanks.

Posts: 86 | Location: NW Ohio | Registered: June 26, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Well, I'm not an expert or SIG collector but, I prefer made, assembled, and proofed in Germany SIGs.

Posts: 270 | Location: Iowa | Registered: April 18, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
It's all opinions, based on hearsays and personal (anecdotal) experience. One camp will say the W. German and German guns are better quality. The other camp says they are same.

And, some will say they like the W. German/German guns for historical reason, or just because...

My reason for liking the W. German / German ones are that the 3 major parts (frame, slide and barrel) are proofed / serialized. I like originality. If I see one missing the proof marks / serial number, I know someone has been swapping parts. On the US assembled guns (from German made parts), with only single serial on the frame and no proof marks, folks can swap things around, and you wouldn't know.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: 12131,

Q

Posts: 26384 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
thank you for the information. good stuff to know, just purchased a "made in Germany" gun, wonder if I should have waited and found an older, "made in W Germany" gun...

Posts: 86 | Location: NW Ohio | Registered: June 26, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Tarheelfan84
posted Hide Post