SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    New Ruger MkIV with some drama - Update Page 2
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Ruger MkIV with some drama - Update Page 2 Login/Join 
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted
I’ve been jonesing for a suppressor for a couple of years now, but one of the things holding me back was that I didn’t have any suitable hosts. A few weeks ago I was in the LGS and saw this Ruger MkIV Tactical sitting there. I left it there and thought about it for a week, then decided to go back half hoping it would have sold. It hadn’t, so it came home with me.

I’ve had a MkII Stainless Target for a few years now, and it’s been absolutely fantastic...incredibly accurate, great trigger, and more reliable than I ever thought a semi-auto rimfire gun could be. Based on my experience with that, I figured I couldn’t go wrong with a MkIV. I got it home with just a few hours before I had to be at work, so I took it straight to the range without lubing it, which isn’t something I usually do (there was factory lube on it, but I typically will break a new gun down and re-lube it myself before shooting).

That first range session was terrible. 3-4 stovepipes per mag. When it shot it was accurate, but just annoying as all get out clearing jams every few rounds. I was pissed, as I paid more than double what I paid for my MkII for this thing, and that older gun has been superb. Thinking that it may have been a lack of proper lube from the factory, I stripped it down, lubed it, and took it back out, with the same results.

Clearly the gun was having an ejection-related issue as the cases were all clearing the chamber, but not exiting the ejection port. I did some research, and found some stuff about rounds contacting the rear feed lips of the mag prior to reaching the ejector being the cause of the stovepipes.