SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    p229/lefthanded
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

p229/lefthanded Login/Join 
posted
I really like the Sig p229 for the hammer fired trigger pull, I'm lefthanded and I beleive the slide catch is not ambi, I'm not sure if the clip release can be switched, is there any other options for for lefthanded hammer fired Sigs, or do you think it's not a big deal to have the slide catch on one side, I've had to train myself to get used to righthanded pistols and knives which I'm also into, sorry if this is dumb question, I'm fairly new to pistols.

Posts: 4 | Registered: September 24, 2022Reply With QuoteReport This Post
My other Sig
is a Steyr.
Picture of .38supersig
posted Hide Post
Thinking the mag release can be swapped over, but haven't tried it with a P229.

I most recently did it with a P227 I had apart, but kept trying to push the button where it used to be.

Swapped it back before I put it back together. Let us know what you find out.
`
Welcome to the forum!

Posts: 9152 | Location: Somewhere looking for ammo that nobody has at a place I haven't been to for a pistol I couldn't live without... | Registered: December 02, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm a lefty. For the sig I haven't been able to figure out a way to hit the slide release with anything on my left hand. It's a great design for right handers, but isn't good for lefties. Although no right handed slide release is good for lefties. What I do when reloading is: after inserting a new magazine, as I regain my grip with my right hand, once my right hand is making contact with the gun and my left hand, I reach up with my right hand fingers and hit the slide release, then move my right hand slightly to complete regaining my grip. It takes more motion, and slightly more time, than a right handed shooter. Welcome to the gun industry where until recently nobody really thought about left handed shooters.