Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gen 1 226 X5 Login/Join 
Picture of NMDave
posted
I have long wanted a 226 X5 and found one that I might be able to afford. It is late 2013 or early 2014 (SN - U 904 335). The only down side is it’s chambered in .40 S&W and I want a 9MM. I see Bar-Sto makes a 9MM conversion barrel for the 226 X5 and I am wondering… If I have them install a match conversion barrel, will everything (other than magazines) work out?

Dave

Posts: 469 | Location: Pearland TEXAS | Registered: June 05, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Blume9mm
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert but the issue might be the sizing of the area that has the ejector... 40 cal is wider than 9mm. I think in theory the ejector might not catch the side of the 9mm. Now with that said, I tried just switching out the barrel on a 40/357 P239 to a 9mm and it functioned fine ejecting the rounds... I can't remember if I changed the recoil spring or not.

I say give it a try... not sure about the fitting... I've bought and installed several sig barrels and never had an issue.

What I could offer is to take one of my 357 P226's to my pistol range and just put a 9mm barrel in and see what happens....but I suspect someone here will have an answer in the next day or so before I can make it there.

My Native American Name:
"Runs with Scissors"

Posts: 4441 | Location: Greenville, SC | Registered: January 30, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Great Equalizer
Picture of colt_saa
posted Hide Post
There is no reason why it should not work

You are going for a top shelf target pistol, so I have to ask . . . is the cost of the 40S&W X-5 plus the cost of a fitted Bar-Sto barrel and the round trip shipping really that much cheaper than just buying an X-5 that is already a 9MM ?

If it were me, I would just be putting a bit more money away in that sock drawer to get what I really want.

Or I would find one that I could put on Lay-a-Way and pay off over time.