SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    P229 vs P320??
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

P229 vs P320?? Login/Join 
posted
I'm pretty new to owning a handgun. Only one I've ever owned is a Beretta Bobcat. Looking for something to start taking some concealed classes and take some formal training. Until yesterday, I was set on a Sig P229. I like the idea of a SA/DA but am concerned about the size/weight plus I hear a lot about acquiring the target going from DA to SA? Still it looks like an awesome firearm. Now, I've started hearing a lot about the P320. Never really been a fan of Glocks because to be honest I'm a bit uneasy with striker-fires. But even Glock owners seem to really like the P320. So now I'm looking at the P320 RXP Compact. Any thoughts on the P229 vs the P320? I could really use the advice?

Posts: 3 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: July 01, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Take time to rent and shoot each at a local range. Best if you can do so while someone who knows both, is there.

Some prefer the "tick crunch" of a double action/single action. My opinion has always been that it was a fix to a problem that didn't exist, but it's also like anything; it can be learned, and you can shoot it as well as any other system. Some consider it "safer," especially coupled with manual safeties.

The P320 does offer a number of advantages, not the least of which is cost, ease of maintenance and simplicity to learn, and "modularity." it comes apart without tools and can be quickly altered with a variety of grips that practically make it feel like a few pistol. It comes in various sizes and shapes. It's reliable, light (can be made heavy if one prefers), and is available to attach lights, little electronic sights, etc.