SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Who's your daddy? Comparing the P320 to it's ancestor, the P250.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Who's your daddy? Comparing the P320 to it's ancestor, the P250. Login/Join 
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted
The wife and kids are out of town for a couple of weeks and I’ve been batching it (read: unsupervised Big Grin). I hit up the LGS the other day with a little cash in my pocket and ended up walking out a P250 Compact…the unloved ancestor of the P320.

I’ve shot one before years ago, and remember it having a decent trigger, but apart from that I have no real experience with the gun. I am issued a couple of P320s through work, and own a couple of my own as well. Over the years I’ve accumulated a number of holsters, grip modules, and other accessories for them, so I thought it made sense to try out a hammer-fired variant that could make use of all of that same stuff.

Part of the appeal for me with a DA trigger system is safety. The P320’s pre-tensioned striker means that by design all of the necessary energy to discharge the chambered round just sitting there behind the primer, and the firing system operates by preventing the gun from discharging until the trigger is pulled, rather than making the user create that energy by pulling the trigger. The short and light trigger doesn’t leave a lot of room for human error, either. With the DAO P250, there is a LOOOOONG trigger pull required to make the gun go bang, there’s a hammer that you can physically block with your thumb when re-holstering, and the operating system requires that you apply load to the hammer spring in order to provide the necessary force to discharge the gun…it doesn’t have that energy in its resting state.