SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Ammunition    22LR questions
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

22LR questions Login/Join 
SIG's 'n Surefires
Picture of M-11
posted
I'm relatively new to the .22 scene.
1) I see 32, 36, 38 &40gr rounds. What is each used/best for?
2) Lead nose and copper jacket. I'll assume the jacketed are cleaner, but just how 'dirty' are lead nose? Is there any other reason to use one over the other?

Picking up a Henry Classic 22LR and want to have the right ammo for the right job.

Thanks, gents.

"Common sense is wisdom with its sleeves rolled up." -Kyle Farnsworth
"Freedom of Speech does not guarantee freedom from consequences." -Mike Rowe
"Democracies aren't overthrown, they're given away." -George Lucas

Posts: 6880 | Location: IL, due south of the Arch | Registered: April 20, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
22 LR guns can be very finicky about what they like best. Recommend you buy as many different types of ammo as possible, and shoot them from the bench for accuracy. Once you know what your gun likes, then you can buy in bulk.

A superior pilot is best defined as one who uses his superior judgment to avoid situations requiring the use of his superior skill.

Posts: 368 | Location: St. Louis, MO | Registered: June 15, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
The traditional 22 Long Rifle bullet weight was 40 grains. Hollow points were originally 36 grains (as I recall without looking). Later, higher velocity hollow point bullets were sometimes somewhat lighter, evidently to permit higher velocities or perhaps for other reasons.