SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Ammunition    Is there any meaningful difference between Speer & Federal 62 grain .223 ammo for HD
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is there any meaningful difference between Speer & Federal 62 grain .223 ammo for HD Login/Join 
Res ipsa loquitur
Picture of BB61
posted
So my local fun store has both of the following in stock for a decent price:

For home defensive purposes, is there a meaningful difference between the two and/or should I just buy XM193? Google has a million opinions. I'm just wondering what the Sigforum brain trust thinks? Standard AR15 16" barrel with 1/9" twist will be the host gun.

Posts: 12573 | Registered: October 13, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post
You’re fortunate to have such choices where you live. Here in flyover country we are lucky to find 55gr fmj.

I have no special experience but would feel well equipped with either of those.

Posts: 27158 | Location: TOAD SUCK, AR | Registered: January 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Asking so I can learn, not to derail this thread.

Is there an advantage of soft point over hollow point when it comes to .223 HD ammo?

Posts: 3326 | Location: MS | Registered: December 16, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sourdough44
posted Hide Post
I’d have to think either of those pictured would be fine choices. The usual caveat of making sure they cycle fine in your gun, then suitable accuracy. No need for bench accuracy.

I’ve done a fair bit of prairie dog shooting, for that one prefers very frangible bullets. Those type of bullets, like a V-Max, or Blitzking would NOT be an ideal bullet for home defense loadings. These type of bullets(and others) have rapid expansion.

Posts: 6382 | Location: WI | Registered: February 29, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post