SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Ammunition    Did Glocks kill the 40 S&W cartridge?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Did Glocks kill the 40 S&W cartridge? Login/Join 
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted
This is a post in another current thread:

quote:
Originally posted by XLT:
I had the Glock 32 in 357 sig and it hurt my hand enough that I sold it ....

That comment reminded me of a similar experience and prompted this train of thought (yeah, yeah: cue the “derailing” jibes Wink ).

A long time ago I had a chance to fire a Glock model 22 chambered for 40 S&W. After a single magazine it hurt my hand so much that was the end of the session with that gun, and never again. By way of comparison I’ve had extensive experience for decades with various models of SIG handguns chambered for 40 S&W and 357 SIG: all the Classic line models, including P239, and full and Carry size P320s. My first SIG was a 40 P229 followed by a 357 P229, and I fired many thousands of rounds with both before acquiring other models.

The two cartridges, 357 and 40, have similar recoil characteristics and for training I therefore tend to shoot 40 more than 357 just because of ammunition availability and cost. But although my hands and wrists are many years older now than when I shot the Glock, shooting my SIGs doesn’t bother me at all. My most recent session was with a Carry using the 40 barrel in a 60 round session just a couple of weeks ago.

The Glock 22 weighs somewhat less than my Carry with its 40 barrel and Wilson Combat grip module. Unloaded, the 22 weighs 645 grams (according to the Internet), whereas my Carry weighs 735 grams. I don’t, however, believe that difference should matter much in how the two guns feel to shoot.