SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Ammunition    Terminal performance max range determinations for 5.56 hunting/defense loads
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Terminal performance max range determinations for 5.56 hunting/defense loads Login/Join 
posted
I am new to the world of giving a hoot about the particulars of bullets and bullet performance. I have really only messed with FMJ and OTM, for the entirety of my time spent with the shooting hobby. As the title states, I am curious how one determines the maximum ranges that bullets will perform as advertised. More specifically, I am curious how we determine what seems to be referred to as the "expansion floor" of various factory loads. I am aware that velocities advertised on the box are largely irrelevant, as they are often obtained with longer-than-typical barrels. I have a chronograph, with which to obtain muzzle velocities, and potentially velocities out to 100yd, if I am confident in the repeatability of the weapon system on a particular day. To narrow the scope of the conversation that much more, I am more specifically concerned with this information when it comes to the following three loads:
Hornady Black 5.56 HD/SBR 75gr Interlock
Hornady Critical Defense .223 73gr FTX
Barnes VOR-TX 5.56 70gr TSX
In my searching so far, I have turned up second hand info on expansion floors for two of these:
75gr Interlock- 1500fps
70gr TSX- 1800fps