SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    Two questions: recoil and end cap strikes
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Two questions: recoil and end cap strikes Login/Join 
posted
It is a commonly repeated that silencers reduce recoil. Is this a bolt gun phenomenon? I know a silencer sure as heck (less sure now that conversation has progressed) doesn't reduce recoil in a semi-auto. I don't shoot any bolt guns, so I have no experience with one suppressed.

I came across a discussion about someone shooting a suppressed 9" 5.56; they said end cap strikes were common, and they'd periodically re-form the "crown" of the can with a mallet. I have read about short barrels supposedly not being able to stabilize the round, which can lead to silencer damage. However, I shoot at least four guns with barrels of nine inches or less, and have never had a problem. Is it something exacerbated by heavier bullets, perhaps?

This message has been edited. Last edited by: KSGM,

Posts: 2091 | Location: Northeast GA | Registered: February 15, 2021Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Suppressors reduce recoil on any platform. Been shooting matches for over ten years have not have or seen a baffle/end cap strike on a suppressed AR. Myself and fellow competitors have many many thousands of rounds on suppressed AR's. A couple years ago a friend and I bought 18K pieces of once fired 223/556 brass from fellow SF member fritz, he too has never had a baffle strike Wink

Posts: 3197 | Location: 9860 ft above sea level Colorado | Registered: December 31, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post