SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Suppressed Weapons    The "Otter Dump" extreme torture test
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The "Otter Dump" extreme torture test Login/Join 
posted
Largely trivial, but interesting nonetheless.

Sixty rounds of 5.56 through a silencer, from a drum, in one burst, from a 4.75" barrel.

I think they should have kept their test subjects limited to cans with full auto ratings and no barrel restrictions, to "put them to the test".

https://www.reddit.com/r/NFA/c...ers_tested_by_otter/

https://www.reddit.com/r/NFA/c...2_fails_the_oc_test/

I don't have access to Instagram, which is where this stuff was posted, so I haven't seen the videos of anything but the Surefire.

Posts: 2158 | Location: Northeast GA | Registered: February 15, 2021Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I don't get the point of this at all. Let's say I'm a suppressor designer and I take all the available tradeoffs on cost, material, weight etc. and I build a suppressor. Given all the tradeoff's I made I decide that I can get decent life only when used on a 10" or longer barrel in 5.56. So that's what I say. "minimum barrel length 10"".Then you go shoot it outside of those conditions and it fails. what does that prove? Seems pretty much to me a waste of time and ammo.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”

Posts: 11004 | Registered: October 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I share that opinion. I did say "largely trivial", and stated that they should have been more logical in their test subject selection.

It's an amusingly abusive test; not logical.

In the table, they should have recorded the mount used, if the can was HUB. They do, in the case of the OCM5. The PTB mount was non-negotiable, considering the length of the barrel, but it grants a massive initial expansion chamber.