SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Essential Edge    Knife sharpener suggestions
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Knife sharpener suggestions Login/Join 
posted
Let me start with the fact that I’m a complete beginner in knife sharpening or really knives in general. I just ordered a Microtech Hera as my first “nice” knife and in my search for my perfect OTF knife I realized that this is something that really interests me. And one of the things that I interested in doing is being able to effectively sharpen my own knives. So I’m looking for suggestions in what to get.

What I’m mostly interested in are automatic and folding knives, so I’d like something that can sharpen those types of knives well. I’d also like to be able to sharpen our dull as hell kitchen knives (these will be what I’ll start with for sure since they aren’t anything special).

So…what do you guys recommend? Budget…I’d like to keep it under $500.

Posts: 685 | Location: Milwaukee, WI | Registered: July 21, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Spread the Disease
Picture of flesheatingvirus
posted Hide Post
I'm very happy with my TSProf system. Simple, but very effective.

-- Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past me I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. --

Posts: 17278 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: October 14, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I used a KME for years. Also have a TSProf from recs on this forum. Both will give precise mirror edges. Bought a Work Sharp Ken Onion a couple years back and the KME and TSProf have not left the closet since. If you want precision angles with a zen-like experience, go with TSProf or KME or the like. If you want a drawer full of razor-sharp knives in 10 minutes, get a Work Sharp.