SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Tips for teaching kids to fly fish?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tips for teaching kids to fly fish? Login/Join 
Shit don't
mean shit
posted
I'm pretty new to fly fishing. June 17 I am going to take my 6 YO on a llama fly fishing pack trip with my uncle-in-law. We will hike in to a remote lake that is very easy to catch rainbow trout on...I went with him last year, and I caught probably 20+ fish over 1.5 days. It was my second time fly fishing.

Anyone have recommendations for gear for a 6 YO?

Also, any general advice for teaching a child to fish?

Posts: 5769 | Location: 7400 feet in Conifer CO | Registered: November 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Drill Here, Drill Now
Picture of tatortodd
posted Hide Post
I recommend that Dad (aka the OP) wear kevlar gloves, thick long sleeved shirt, thick pants (not shorts), and safety glasses. As a youngster learning to fish, I certainly caught my Dad much more frequently than I caught a fish.

Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity

DISCLAIMER: These are the author's own personal views and do not represent the views of the author's employer.

Posts: 23378 | Location: Northern Suburbs of Houston | Registered: November 14, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Crusty old
curmudgeon
Picture of Jimbo54
posted Hide Post
You're kidding, right? Seriously, if you want to get a 6 yr old into fishing, fly fishing would be a disaster. Start him/her out with a closed face spinning outfit with a bobber and a worm where they will catch a fish or two. Geesh!!

Jim

"If you can't be a good example, then you'll have to be a horrible warning" -Catherine Aird

Posts: 9791 | Location: The right side of Washington State | Registered: September 14, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Let your Uncle-in-law teach him.

-------------

The sadder but wiser girl for me.