SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Warning for those using Hoppes 1204S gun cleaning patches.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Warning for those using Hoppes 1204S gun cleaning patches. Login/Join 
Ammoholic
Picture of Skins2881
posted
They kept same part number but switched the product from synthetic to cotton patches.

I have no desire to add lint to my guns, I'm use these to clean my guns not dirty them.

Jesse

Sic Semper Tyrannis

Posts: 20823 | Location: Loudoun County, Virginia | Registered: December 27, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Shall Not Be Infringed
Picture of nhracecraft
posted Hide Post
Weird, I actually prefer cotton patches. I don't recall ever having any issues with lint left behind and feel they wipe better that the synthetic patches. That said, though I've been preferring and using cotton patches since 1994, admittedly, I've have never purchased Hoppes brand patches either. Wink

ETA - Kleen-Bore 100% Cotton Flannel Cleaning Patches are my preferred gun cleaning patches.

If Some is Good, and More is Better.....then Too Much, is Just Enough !!
Trump 2024....Save America!
"May Almighty God bless the United States of America" - parabellum 7/26/20
Live Free or Die!

Posts: 8888 | Location: New Hampshire | Registered: October 29, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I prefer cotton also. I have time on my hands so I make my own from old t-shirts. I haven’t bought commercially made patches in over a decade.

Posts: 757 | Location: Orange County, CA | Registered: December 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Firearms Enthusiast
Picture of Mustang-PaPa
posted Hide Post
Prefer cotton myself and I know that any hairs left behind will burn. Not sure about synthetic.
Cotton holds liquids and crud better then synthetic IMO.

Posts: 18034 | Location: South West of Fort Worth, Tx. | Registered: December 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Deal In Lead
Picture of Flash-LB
posted Hide Post