SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    When will the coronavirus arrive in the US? (Disease: COVID-19; Virus: SARS-CoV-2)
Page 1 ... 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 ... 1206
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

When will the coronavirus arrive in the US? (Disease: COVID-19; Virus: SARS-CoV-2) Login/Join 
Picture of erj_pilot
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Georgeair:
To be clear once again, I am not a proponent of and would be opposed to another “shutting down“ of the economy. My concern is with healthcare driving so much of the visible part of this that without some real effort by everyone in the country to curtail the hospitalizations (not just the positive test count) we’re going to back the policymakers into an untenable position where they start leaning back on that as a partial or total solution.
Please allow me to be clear from the get-go, that I appreciate your POV and do not wish to get into a pissing contest, Georgeair.

But here is where I must interject once again and ask WHY...WHY...weren't ANY of the proposed measures by these "policymakers" even discussed in whispered conversations over a beer when there were over 166,000 cases of H1N1 PER DAY sweeping through this country in '09/'10? Did someone in the healthcare profession just decide, "Meh...it's no big deal. This infection rate is nothing."? With that many cases per day, did anyone NOT think there was a concern of the possible drain on hospitals and the healthcare industry as a whole? COVID is nowhere NEAR those numbers.

This is why I get torqued out over this. The government and media didn't do a damned thing when H1N1 was sweeping through this country...didn't say a word. Would you not agree that H1N1 was way more infectious than what COVID is? Death rates are irrelevant until we have accurate numbers, as I've pointed out previously due to how and what is being counted as a COVID death.