SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    To motorcycle or to not motorcycle
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

To motorcycle or to not motorcycle Login/Join 
Picture of Browndrake
posted Hide Post
Lots of good thoughts here.

I think you should do it. I just started riding again last year at age 41. I had a bike in my twenties and hung up my spurs after I got hit from behind. It shook me up enough that it killed the joy of riding for me because I just kept waiting to get hit again.

My pastor is a big motorcycle guy and he kind of supplied the extra nudge I needed to get back into it. My wife divorced me last year and I traded in the pontoon boat for a bike. Just being able to get out on the road and clear my head has done wonders for me. I am extremely glad I jumped back into riding. It has been very therapeutic for me and apparently enough time has passed since my accident that I don't overly worry about being hit again.

I'll also echo the thoughts about comparing it to flying. It isn't the same, but motorcycles come closer than anything else, and they are a LOT cheaper.

Get a bike you feel comfortable on, drive it sensibly, and within your capabilities and the bike's, and enjoy the many great things that riding can bring you.

Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. Do everything in love.
- 1 Corinthians 16:13-14

Posts: 884 | Location: Southwest Michigan | Registered: March 06, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Great starter bike if you can find one - Yamaha RD400. It is a two stroke (remember those?) but it has an oil tank and automatic pump that mixes the gas/oil for you. Just check the oil once in a while.

How big are you? The 400 was great for me, but I’m 160 soaking wet. If you’re bigger a 600cc might be good.

Start small and move up. I currently ride a BMW 1000CC and sometimes an 1100. Both are a bear to pick up (500 - 600# dead weight).