SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Newer Garmin handheld GPS?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newer Garmin handheld GPS? Login/Join 
Picture of Trooperdan
posted
I'm kinda a casual Geocacher and my current handheld is a eTrex Cs that must be 6-7 years old. I see current offerings from Garmin seem to start around $350, more than I'm interested in paying, I usually buy last years discontinued model.
First, is it worth upgrading from a performance standpoint? If so, can you recommend a recent model that I might find at a significant discount?

Posts: 946 | Location: Raeford NC | Registered: April 25, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of lkdr1989
posted Hide Post
I don't have any experience with the eTrex series, only with the GPSMap series; I've been using the 60csx since 2010 with the 100k topo upgrade and it's been very reliable and acquires satellites very quickly; I also have a 64st which has 24k topo maps and better resolution; however, it takes longer than my 60 to acquire satellites and occasionally will lose signal. I'd look at the GPSMap 6x series, the main reason, I went with the 6x was because I wanted a handheld that had buttons as opposed to a touchscreen, which you either need touchscreen-compatible gloves or take your gloves off. If I could afford it, I'd buy another 60csx in a heartbeat.

...let him who has no sword sell his robe and buy one. Luke 22:35-36 NAV

"Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves; so be shrewd as serpents and innocent as doves." Matthew 10:16 NASV

Posts: 4336 | Location: Valley, Oregon | Registered: June 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of caneau
posted Hide Post
Why do you want a stand-alone GPS for geocaching? Three or four years ago, maybe due to battery life and accuracy, but that's a thing of the past for the most part.