SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Shooting Range Improvement Suggestions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shooting Range Improvement Suggestions Login/Join 
Picture of Shotgun Zeke
posted
I have been appointed assistant range guy at my sportsman's club and would like to hear relatively inexpensive suggestions to improve our range. Note: the range is sloped downhill which is problematic for 7 yard eye level shooting since there is basically only a thin metal back stop at that elevation.

I had dreams of swinger targets but have since talked myself out of those.

Desperate Times Call for Desperate Measures.

NRA Shotgun Instructor
NRA Rifle Instructor

Posts: 640 | Location: Central Illinois | Registered: May 20, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
A man's got to know
his limitations
Picture of hberttmank
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert in this but I think you need a much taller berm of dirt for your backstop.

"But, as luck would have it, he stood up. He caught that chunk of lead." Gunnery Sergeant Carlos Hathcock

Posts: 9420 | Registered: March 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of HayesGreener
posted Hide Post
I don't know what your budget is but I would start by hiring a guy with a bulldozer and/or front end loader and haul in a whole lot of fill to build up the berm and level your range. Railroad ties properly anchored can provide a retaining wall to hold the fill so you can level off your range. I own a private range and belong to a couple clubs. Our number one concern is to keep stray rounds and ricochets from getting out of the range.

CMSGT USAF (Retired)
Chief of Police (Retired)

Posts: 4373 | Location: Florida Panhandle | Registered: September 27, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Just because you can,
doesn't mean you should
posted Hide Post