SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Army to eliminate grenade-throwing requirement
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Army to eliminate grenade-throwing requirement Login/Join 
Charmingly unsophisticated
Picture of AllenInAR
posted Hide Post
While the Mk19/M320/M203 family of 40mm grenades certainly have their applications, nothing says “Fuck you” to the guys in the room right next to you better than an M67.

In regards to BRM, my son said they qualified with M16A2s, but with a CCO mounted via a gooseneck out over the forearm. I’m no expert but wouldn’t having the CCO that far forward actually be detrimental to acquiring and engaging far targets?

The artist formerly known as AllenInWV

Posts: 16188 | Location: Harrison, AR | Registered: February 05, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by AllenInWV:
In regards to BRM, my son said they qualified with M16A2s, but with a CCO mounted via a gooseneck out over the forearm.

What’s a CCO?

And I’m confused about some of the posts here.

When the grenade throw was part of the physical fitness test in the 1960s and early ’70s, it involved throwing a dummy grenade at a horizontal target on the ground for distance and accuracy. That was later dropped (a long time ago) along with the low crawl, overhead horizontal ladder, and run, dodge, and jump. So, when was that reinstated? Or was it? It seems like some posters here are just referring to the grenade throw as tossing a live grenade or two over a berm under tight supervision. Is that what the original post is about—no more of that? Or (unlike during my 23 years in the Army, including a stint in Viet Nam), was there an actual fitness development program at one time to condition recruits to actually throw a grenade 30 meters (~33 yards/~100 feet)?

6.4/93.6

“Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”
— Plato