SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Flat iron steak cooking methods
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Flat iron steak cooking methods Login/Join 
posted
Picked up a nice Black Angus flat iron steak Thursday to do last night and then ended up working about 14 hours yesterday so I didn't cook when I got home.
So it's for tonight.
I've never done this cut before and wondering what everyone else does and what works. I do have an assortment of cast iron for searing. Natural gas grill for grilling. Charcoal grill is out for tonight probably as it's already windy with a cold front moving through and gusts supposedly ~40mph through the evening.
TIA.

I'd rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I'm not.

Posts: 3652 | Location: The armpit of Ohio | Registered: August 18, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of jcsabolt2
posted Hide Post
Cooks like any other cut of steak, its just very lean. I usually coat mine in olive oil, then add the seasoning of my liking Montreal Steak or course salt and pepper. Throw in a pat of butter for taste, sear it in cast iron, but don't over cook it. With the strong winds I'd probably avoid grilling because it will be difficult to keep your temp where it needs to be.

----------
“Nobody can ever take your integrity away from you. Only you can give up your integrity.” H. Norman Schwarzkopf

Posts: 3626 | Registered: July 06, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Baroque Bloke
Picture of Pipe Smoker
posted Hide Post
The sous vide folks will be along shortly…

Serious about crackers

Posts: 8934 | Location: San Diego | Registered: July 26, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Drill Here, Drill Now
Picture of tatortodd
posted Hide Post
I'm a minimalist when it comes to seasoning as I want the meat to shine:
  • Boneless - 1/2 tsp salt per pound of meat and 1/4 tsp pepper per pound of meat
  • Bone In - 1/4 tsp salt per pound of meat and 1/8 tsp pepper per pound of meat