SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    A 30 second testament to the worthlessness of the next generation
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

A 30 second testament to the worthlessness of the next generation Login/Join 
Sig Forum Smart-Ass
Picture of Rotndad
posted Hide Post
As a mechanic I too taught my son how to change a tire, vhange his oil and do basic maintenance on his cars. It's very flattering and humbling when he thanks me for teaching him because HE is the one his friends call when they have a problem with their cars. I still carry him on TSM11 and my AAA policy. Mostly for issues that can't be resolved on the side of the road but also to avoid those 0200 morning calls to come rescue him.

I've also told him that sometimes (most times) it's safer to let AAA handle it. With all the distacted driving nowdays it's probably safer to let the wrecker driver change a flat.

I am ususally the guy with the aluminum "racing" jack, cordless impact and othe tools that stops to render aid. TSM11 and I did so most recently on Thanksgiving day. The gentleman we stopped for knew how to change the flat and had his own tools but the rim was rusted to the hub. Something that usually takes 5 minutes took 30+ minutes. WHile he and I worked on getting the rusted rim off of the car, TSM11 stood 25 yards away watching our backs for distracted drivers. This was on I75 around Riverview in central Florida.

Dripping water hollows out stone, not through force, but through persistence.
-Ovid

NRA Life Member
NRA Certified Basic Pistol Instructor

Posts: 10192 | Location: Land O Lakes, FLA | Registered: June 18, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
To Do What is
Right and Just
posted Hide Post
The ads are dumb, but at the same time I know people who know a ton about one thing (cars for that example) and nothing about another (framing a wall or setting up a retirement fund). Everyone has different knowledge and likes.