SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    If there is a grease zirk (fitting) There is a reason.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

If there is a grease zirk (fitting) There is a reason. Login/Join 
Green grass and
high tides
Picture of old rugged cross
posted
First let me say I am no mechanic. I actually love machinery. But don't like to work on it a lot or fully understand a lot of it.

I can do oil and lube and some basic mechanicing. That is most of my skill level and more over desire.

Having said all of that. One of the main issue's in keeping stuff going that is all but ignored and is a good reason for good equipment thrown in the junk pile permaturely is lack of lubrication. I know we know that since this is a firearm site. We know that.

But when pulling stuff out for spring work look for the fittings. If they have been ignored the fitting may have dried out and wont take grease. Take a tiny drill bit and drill it out.

Btw, most cars and trucks that go in for a lube a filter don't get any lube or almost no lube. If you have a 4wd and dont do your own I can almost guarantee your drive line is dry as a bone.

Look for grease zirks and give them some love.

Wink Cool

"Practice like you want to play in the game"

Posts: 19707 | Registered: September 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Make sure it's a zirk fitting and not the brake bleed fitting you're greasing.

The butcher with the sharpest knife has the warmest heart.

Posts: 13490 | Location: Bottom of Lake Washington | Registered: March 06, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Eating elephants
one bite at a time
Picture of ffips
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by old rugged cross:
...If they have been ignored the fitting may have dried out and wont take grease. Take a tiny drill bit and drill it out.

Look for grease zirks and give them some love.

Wink Cool