SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Dumb question for electricians
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dumb question for electricians Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by slosig:
quote:
Jimmy: Here's something for you - Ancora Imparo. I built an airplane in my garage from plans; 3 of them actually. I wired them myself and have flown them IFR/VFR in 3 continents, over oceans, day and night. I'm an A&P with IA. I may not know what I'm doing, but I'm sure as hell not way over my head. Unlike you, I'm still learning.

Okay, that is funny, but to be fair, when you say “Dryer cord” most people think 220v dryer cord. The washer cord is almost always 120v, I’ve never seen a 240v washer cord, but the dryer cord (or the stove cord) on a 240v unit is different, Now, you did say “120v dryer cord”, but I can’t say my eyes/brain have never skipped over a detail and left me in the weeds...

Thanks for the laugh.

THIS. When you go into Lowe's or HD and ask for a dryer cord, they will hand you a 240 volt cord and every dryer plug is 240v. So that is what people think when you tell them you bought a dryer cord!!!! However I missed the "120 volt" dryer cord and didn't think of a gas dryer. That being said, how hard would it have been for someone of your incredible skill and vast knowledge of electricity to isolate each lead on the cord, plug it into the wall and put a multimeter on it??????????????????????????

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by LS1 GTO:
quote:
Originally posted by aileron:
Jimmy >> WTF are you talking about 240V for? I said it was 120VAC

Doing what Jimmy does best - trying to get people here hurt or killed from his soapbox level of ignorance.

What is YOUR exact issue with me? You come into every single thread that I have posted in, make some jackass comment referring to me that has nothing to do with the thread and nothing more.