SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Talk me out of a 2023 Toyota Tacoma: Suggestions?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Talk me out of a 2023 Toyota Tacoma: Suggestions? Login/Join 
Objectively Reasonable
Picture of DennisM
posted
Assume I'm a truck novice (good assumption, because I'm a truck novice) aside from driving a few that Uncle owned-- so I didn't need to care about cost or maintenance-- and combing the 'net for information, including prior Tacoma threads here on our go-to info base.

I'm looking for something that'll handle light towing-- think fiberglass camping trailer-- and light yard / landscaping / home-improvement materials. I don't need to routinely move more than one passenger. 4WD availability would be a positive (we do get snow/ice and do some light unpaved travel, though nothing at all extreme.) Not looking to lease, not looking to flip it in a few years, would like something that doesn't require ultra-expensive maintenance (also, now that I'm semi-retired, I have time and the basic skills to DIY oil changes and similar) so wide parts availability and independent mechanics who know the model are a plus. I am OK with a relatively stripped-down model if it makes sense price-wise.

Tacoma seems to check all of those boxes. Are there other options in the same general category that I should look at, or any reason to avoid the Tacoma? I have no independent brand loyalty, and as a novice: Anything helps!

Posts: 2466 | Registered: January 01, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you don’t need to worry about cost or maintenance then it sounds like you’re a cash buyer. The Tacoma is a fine truck so there’s no reason not to do it in your financial position.

The competitors in the same class are just going to be preference differences so if you like the Toyota I don’t see any reason not to get it.

Posts: 3928 | Registered: January 25, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ridewv