SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    The Jack Russell Terrier verses the Miniature Schnauzer
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The Jack Russell Terrier verses the Miniature Schnauzer Login/Join 
Official forum
SIG Pro
enthusiast
Picture of stickman428
posted
There are many dog breeds I adore but the Jack Russell Terrier (JRT) and the miniature Schnauzer both hold a special place in my heart.

I have about 17 years experience living with both breeds. Here are my thoughts on the two breeds as well as their strengths and weaknesses.

Jack Russell Terrier
This breed is HIGHLY intelligent, energetic, EXTREMELY healthy and absolutely fearless. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the highest I would rate it’s energy level somewhere around 15. It’s the kind of dog that will never back down from a threat and gladly engage dogs 4 times it’s size in a fight and will fight to the death to protect its owner. They are fiercely loyal but will hold a grudge if they feel like you treated them unfairly. Fun fact: the first JRT and the one that all JRTs are related to was named “Trump”. Big Grin Interesting and amusing eh?

Teaching a JRT to do tricks is in my opinion very easy thanks to its intelligence. The only thing to consider is after a while the JRT is going to get bored and want to do it’s own thing. Keeping one engaged and interested in your instructions while training it will yield incredible results. While bored out of my mind recovering from surgery and with limited mobility I managed to teach my JRT to sit, speak, roll over, get the kitty, get the ball, get his bone, sit pretty and lay down. My parents were absolutely shocked when I showed them all the tricks the dog learned in only a few days.