SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    People watching observation today
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

People watching observation today Login/Join 
Picture of pulicords
posted Hide Post
In the meantime, California is set to decriminalize jaywalking statewide. FWIW: In the southern California city where I worked as a LEO, more pedestrians were struck and killed by motor vehicles annually than murdered during most of my three decades of service there.

Freedom to Walk Act’ to decriminalize jaywalking in California

Decriminalizing jaywalking will hopefully minimize racialized police violence and relieve lower income Californians disproportionately affected by infrastructure disparities from paying expensive fines.

Lily Button|
Deputy News Editor

OCTOBER 04, 2022

California Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB 2147, “The Freedom to Walk Act,” to decriminalize jaywalking in California and mitigate racial bias in law enforcement on Friday.

“It should not be a criminal offense to safely cross the street,” said Assemblymember Phil Ting, author of the bill, in a press release. “When expensive tickets and unnecessary confrontations with police impact only certain communities, it’s time to reconsider how we use our law enforcement resources and whether our jaywalking laws really do protect pedestrians.”

Jaywalking stops are a historical source of police violence, according to Elisa Della-Piana, legal director for Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights of the San Francisco Bay Area. Della-Piana noted that two police killings of African American men in San Clemente and San Mateo counties in the past three years were results of jaywalking violations.

She added that Black Californians are 4.3 times more likely to be stopped for jaywalking than white residents.