SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Non-Gun question about 3D printing technology
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Non-Gun question about 3D printing technology Login/Join 
Picture of Fowler
posted
My sister-in-law has an old (very expensive) Zero-King fridge. The door shelves are falling apart - cheap plastic end-caps are disintegrating. Seem irreplaceable (can't find any on-line).
My question: Is there a way of somehow scanning the existing end caps (complex shape) to allow new ones to be created using 3D printing?
Thanks in advance. Fowler

------------------------------
Just because you disagree with someone doesn't mean they're wrong.

Posts: 7818 | Location: Mid-Coast Maine | Registered: December 13, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Simple answer is - yes, that's entirely possible. Unless you have the time, knowledge & a bug up your ass to do it this way, you could replace the fridge cheaper.

I'm an engineer & accomplished half-asser. I have a $400 3D printer & use cheap-ass material. I can fumble my way around CAD programs enough to make almost anything I've needed to make (I don't have a 3D scanner). Even if I ignore the already sunk cost of my equipment & work for free, I've come to the conclusion it's not worth doing something like you suggest for myself, let alone for a business.

The equipment & knowledge to do a professional job of it aren't cheap.
Scanning for mfg is as much art as science.
Depending on the shape, you might be able to get away with cheap material/printing or you might need some un-obtanium material & a printer costing 6-figures. (I seriously doubt that it's that bad, but you get the idea).

Rough guess, cheapest way to do it would take maybe $50 in materials ~10-15hrs of 'engineering time' to scan & make usable files + ~25hrs of print time. For someone to do this as a business, I'd say you'd lose money charging $100/hr.