SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    CVS, Walmart to Cut Pharmacy Hours as Staffing Squeeze Continues
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CVS, Walmart to Cut Pharmacy Hours as Staffing Squeeze Continues Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
The driveup window at the CVS I use is closed between 1:00-2:00 everyday for lunch?????????
They can't stagger lunch breaks?????
What happened to customer service??

Posts: 118 | Location: RI | Registered: January 05, 2022Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by OKCGene:

I always talked to the pharmacy interns, getting ready to graduate, and I always asked if they wouldn't mind sharing with me the amount of their student debt. I was nothing to heard of $250,000 minimum in student loan debt, over $300K and one said $425,000.

How the **** are they supposed to pay that off?????

The cost of pharmacy school tuition is ridiculous. When I graduated in 2003, I was the last class that could choose between a BS (5 years) or PharmD (6 years). Now, it is a 7 year program. I would have new grads work at my store who couldn’t afford to live on their own, due to their student loan debt. Making well into 6 figures and living with parents. It’s unfortunate. When I left Walgreens, they were telling new grads they could only give them 20 hours per week. Now, they’re closing stores and reducing hours left and right.

Gene, you are correct. But the change started before Boots. When Express Scripts pulled out of Walgreens network, that was over 20% of most stores pharmacy business. Staff was reduced as a result and never added back when Express Scripts came back. When your RX volume is increasing, but staffing is decreasing, something doesn’t add up.

Posts: 2157 | Location: St. Louis | Registered: January 28, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Vette02:
The driveup window at the CVS I use is closed between 1:00-2:00 everyday for lunch?????????