SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    How simple is it to change from a Liftmaster chain drive to a belt drive opener?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How simple is it to change from a Liftmaster chain drive to a belt drive opener? Login/Join 
Go Vols!
Picture of Oz_Shadow
posted
I have an old 1/2hp Liftmaster chain garage door opener. It seems belt drive is highly recommended. How difficult is it to convert from an old Liftmaster chain to a new Liftmaster belt system?

The old system had the wall button and door sensors with a single button remote. It looks like the new stuff all includes wifi telephone options too.

Posts: 17887 | Location: SE Michigan | Registered: February 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of erj_pilot
posted Hide Post
For the most part, bolt off/bolt on. A buddy installed mine inside of 90 minutes, by himself, to include installing an external keypad, which did not exist before I had to replace my opener.

"If you’re a leader, you lead the way. Not just on the easy ones; you take the tough ones too…” – MAJ Richard D. Winters (1918-2011), E Company, 2nd Battalion, 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne

"Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil... Therefore, as tongues of fire lick up straw and as dry grass sinks down in the flames, so their roots will decay and their flowers blow away like dust; for they have rejected the law of the Lord Almighty and spurned the word of the Holy One of Israel." - Isaiah 5:20,24

Posts: 11066 | Location: NW Houston | Registered: April 04, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Pretty easy. I installed mine myself and it was pretty straightforward.

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
You can't go
home again
Picture of LBAR15
posted Hide Post