SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Weed-B-Gon for Engineers
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Weed-B-Gon for Engineers Login/Join 
Picture of Keystoner
posted
Let me preface by saying that I know the difference between the two options below is practically insignificant in this example, but if the numbers were changed, it could matter, and I'm an overthinking engineer who wants to know the actual intent.

I have some Weed-B-Gon. The directions say, "1 fl oz (2 Tbs)/gal of water/200 sq ft."

Is it:

1) 1 fl oz of the product plus 128 oz of water, making 129 oz of the mixture
2) 1 fl oz of the product plus 127 oz of water, making 128 oz of the mixture

I interpret the answer to be #1, but the OCD is kicking in and I made a spreadsheet. One of my inputs is the application rate. Is it a gallon of mixture per 200 sq ft or 129 oz per 200 sq ft?

Year V

Posts: 2671 | Registered: November 05, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sgalczyn
posted Hide Post
its 1 oz PER 1-gallon of water.

Stop over-thinking it and check your meds!

"No matter where you go - there you are"

Posts: 4650 | Location: Eastern PA-Berks/Lehigh Valley | Registered: January 03, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of konata88
posted Hide Post
Now I'm wondering how homogenous your application is per sq foot across a 200 sq ft area. And how you're actually ensuring it.

"Wrong does not cease to be wrong because the majority share in it." L.Tolstoy
"A government is just a body of people, usually, notably, ungoverned." Shepherd Book

Posts: 13069 | Location: In the gilded cage | Registered: December 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Unflappable Enginerd
Picture of stoic-one
posted Hide Post
I've always interpreted that to mean, add solution to be diluted, then fill the container to the 1 gallon mark. I see the difference, but it's pretty dang small.

NRA Benefactor
I lost all my weapons in a boating, umm, accident.
http://www.aufamily.com/forums/