SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    South Florida 12 story condo building partial collapse
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

South Florida 12 story condo building partial collapse Login/Join 
Donate Blood,
Save a Life!
Picture of StarTraveler
posted Hide Post
As a structural engineer, I've been watching this closely. Many lessons to be learned.

quote:
Originally posted by chongosuerte:

I agree with this. Like the story of the retired fellow that billed $1 for banging a spot with a hammer and $999,999 for knowing where to hang to fix the machine nobody else knew how to fix.

Kudos for them (politicians) doing it right.

Charles Proteus Steinmetz, General Electric's Wizard of Schenectady, was credited with that ($1/$9999) in Life Magazine in 1965. When General Electric sent him to help Henry Ford in Dearborn, Michigan, he figured out the solution to the generator problem but Ford balked at the price and asked for an itemized bill. He paid it after Steinmetz sent the basic two line itemization that chongosuerte alluded to. Knowledge is a valuable resource, as it was in this Florida case, too.

https://www.smithsonianmag.com...chenectady-51912022/

"Aut viam inveniam aut faciam (I will either find a way or make one)." -- Hannibal Barca

Posts: 2166 | Location: Georgia | Registered: July 19, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ryan81986:
Yeah it was a big cost to bring the rest of the building down but you have to figure the amount of care and expertise that would be required in this very specific circumstance. This isn't a vacant building that is structurally sound and needs to be taken down. That and if they are assuming that there are still people alive on the other side that need to be found. The amount of precision to keep the building from falling on the area that needs to be searched.