SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question About Microwave In New Kitchen
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question About Microwave In New Kitchen Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
We are going to finally be doing a gut renovation of our very dated 1951 kitchen complete with yellow metal cabinets and baby blue Formica countertops in 2022.

I plan to have a Euro-style chimney hood above the gas range for ventilation and also being a former chef I like to sear and sauté things over high heat and often smoke/stink up the house.

So that means I cannot have a microwave above the range, which I’ve never loved anyway. I know it seems very popular, but I’ve never liked the idea of having above the stove.

I’m trying to research places to put this instead of just plopping one on the counter and taking up space? Can one still be mounted up on the wall between cabinets? I’ve also seen where they are in a pull out drawer?

Just looking for some ideas and suggestions on where to put one, thank you.

Posts: 33815 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I’ve seen a few floor to ceiling cabinets with a double oven and a microwave above. Those kitchens had the stove top set into the counter.

Posts: 881 | Registered: December 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
thin skin can't win
Picture of Georgeair
posted Hide Post
We've had them in hood and wall mount. Not wild about either. Current house had the microwave mounted in island cabinets under counter near cooktop and fridge. It's short enough that there's room for a small drawer underneath that's perfect size for plastic/alum wrap, baggies, etc.