SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Liquid Lawn fertilizer/weed killer
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Liquid Lawn fertilizer/weed killer Login/Join 
Like a party
in your pants
Picture of armored
posted
I bought a 18 gal. sprayer for my tractor for applying lawn chemicals, primarily fertilizer and weed killer/preventer.
I have never used a liquid application for these tasks.
What products do you expert lawn care pro's recommend?
What precautions do you follow?

I would prefer products that are NOT too aggressive because I have no experience with liquid applications and don't want to do more harm than good.

I live in Chicago and have ( whats left of it) primarily Blue Grass.

Posts: 4639 | Location: Chicago, IL, USA: | Registered: November 17, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Optimistic Cynic
Picture of architect
posted Hide Post
Timing of application is critical, and probably not the same for the different application purposes. For example, cool season grasses should not be fed in the Spring when they are trying to grow seed heads, but in the late Summer/early Fall to encourage root growth if the goal is a dense drought-resistant lawn. Weed control needs to be timed for when the target weeds are actively growing, this will be different for broad leaf (dandelions, etc.) and grassy ones (crabgrass et. al.) To control grassy weeds, without harming desirable perennial grasses, a pre-emergent strategy is preferred. It makes absolutely no sense to apply a pre-emergent at the same time as a post-emergent herbicide.