SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Starting (Brazilian) jiu-jitsu. New Journey. What do I need to know? 2ND UPDATE: Half way to Blue Belt
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Starting (Brazilian) jiu-jitsu. New Journey. What do I need to know? 2ND UPDATE: Half way to Blue Belt Login/Join 
Picture of myrottiety
posted
So I'm no stranger to Martial Arts. Kempo as a kid for few years. Dabbled in Thai Boxing for around a year. Rolled a few times back then. (18 Years +/- ago)

I've been studying Aikido for about the last 15+ years. After my son was born x5 years ago I gave up my teaching slot on Monday nights. But continued to train 1-2 times a week. Life happens and I slipped to 1 a week. Then my Dojo is moving twice as far away from me. 30 minutes with no traffic. Guess what? In Atlanta there is NEVER "No Traffic".

I've decided to strap on the white belt again and start from scratch on a new journey. I've caught the Jiu-Jitsu bug a little. I'm swinging through a dojo for a class on Monday. I'll look for all the classic things I've told others to look for. Are people having fun. Are people there just to crank & hurt each other. Pedigree of the instructor. Etc.

What would you look for in a new Jiu-Jitsu school?

Here's a link to the instructors Bio for any that are curious : Sifu/Guro Alan Baker

This message has been edited. Last edited by: myrottiety,

Train how you intend to Fight

Remember - Training is not sparring. Sparring is not fighting. Fighting is not combat.

Posts: 8853 | Location: Woodstock, GA | Registered: August 04, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
You don’t fix faith,
River. It fixes you.

Picture of Yanert98
posted Hide Post
I picked a school and started training about 7 months ago.
My biggest decision points were this:
1) Do they have a solid instructor for the classes you plan to attend? The guy with his name on the window isn't as important as who you will actually be training with.