SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question regarding being a machinist for a career. Anyone experienced in this field, please step in
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question regarding being a machinist for a career. Anyone experienced in this field, please step in Login/Join 
Res ipsa loquitur
Picture of BB61
posted
My youngest son is thinking of going part time to high school and going to the local technical college and studying to be a machinist. I have no experience in this field. I’m not opposed to it but is it a good career decision at this time? Pros and cons would be appreciated. Finally, he may or may not go to college and if so, he is thinking about mechanical engineering or something similar. I have no idea if this would help if he became an engineer. So, any knowledge there would be appreciated too.

Thanks!

Posts: 12469 | Registered: October 13, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Raised Hands Surround Us
Three Nails To Protect Us
Picture of Black92LX
posted Hide Post
Does he actually want to design things and implement those designs? Then yes the engineering degree is almost a must.

If he is just wanting to run the equipment not so much.

There are all sorts of machine shops and the pros and cons can be quite different.

I worked in a small family owned fabrication/machine shop.

It can be quite monotonous especially if you are in a shop that has a fairly set product they produce.
If they do a lot of custom work not so much.
Most shops are not these big fancy clean air conditioned shops like you see in the YouTube videos.

Shop I worked in was balls hot in the summer. Airflow came from the garage doors being open on 2 sides of the building.

It is hard work. It can be dangerous work. You can make good money.